The Squash and the Swede

Veg box 8, March 1st

This morning’s colourful veg box included:
• Potatoes • Carrots • Onions • Cabbage • Cauliflower
• Swede
(quelle horreur!), and the newcomers: • Red pepper • Squash.

Squash . . . But Which Squash?!

The newcomers are very welcome. I’ve enjoyed all the squash I’ve tried before but I’m not entirely sure whether this one is a buttercup or Japanese kabocha. According to The Cook’s Thesaurus, both varieties are orange fleshed and described as ‘dry’, so there’s no clues there either. I guess I will work it out when I taste it, apparently the buttercup has ‘a sweet and creamy orange flesh’, while the kabocha ‘tastes of sweet potatoes’. They sound pretty similar to me and at the end of the day, who cares what it’s called – it’s a squash!

A Breakthrough with Swede

I’m delighted to report that I’ve found a great new way to deal with the dreaded swede. When I opened the box this morning and saw this unwelcome visitor I decided I needed to find someone who would make it more welcome in their home. I texted my neighbour and asked if she liked swede and within minutes there was a knock at the door. Yay! My swede can now enjoy a happy life next door. Fantastic. So swedes are good for something after all – neighbourly relations.

