Make Your Own Vegetable Crisps

Veg Box 3, January 26th

Saturday morning dawns and I spy though the cat flap Veg Box 3 which has:
• Red-skinned potatoes (1Kg) • Onions • Carrots • Cabbage • Brussel tops • Parsnips • Cooked beetroot • Celery.

Because you don’t know what you’re going to get, it’s always exciting to see what’s inside! As this is the third box I’ve started to see a pattern – it seems that potatoes, onions, carrots and cabbage are a regular fixture this season.

In this box I also have celery for the first time along with Brussels tops, cooked beetroot and more parsnips. Oh no! I haven’t finished the last parsnips yet. I’m not especially keen on parsnips, which is why they’ve been left until last, and I don’t know what to do with them.

Then I remember my book Matthew Drennan’s Soup. This book packed with great soup recipes, but it also gives you recipes for accompaniments such as mini rosemary scones and pumpkin crisps. I like the idea of making vegetable crisps so I give it a go.

How to Make Your Own Crisps (in only 5 minutes)

This is easy – and you can make crisps out of all sorts of veg, including potato, parsnip, carrot, beetroot, pumpkin, sweet potato and plantain.

  • First I poured olive oil into a saucepan until it reached a depth of about a centimetre.
  • Then I peeled the skins off the parsnips, but kept the skins on the potatoes.
  • Using a knife I cut very thin slices to make the crisps. You can use a peeler if you want really thin slices.
  • The slices were fried in batches in the hot olive oil for 2–3 minutes or until golden and crispy. The fatter your slice, the longer you’ll need – unless you like chewy crisps. And if the slices overlap they may not cook properly.
  • I fished out each batch of crisps with a metal spatula and set them on kitchen paper to drain while the next batch got fried.

So . . . anyone for crisps? There’s loads to go around – you can get so many out of one large spud.

They taste just like shop bought crisps, but fresher and without all the chemicals – and you can add whatever you want: salt and pepper, vinegar, cheese, garlic salt, celery salt, parmesan . . .

Next time I fancy crisps I know what to do.

 

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Vegetable Crisps

Leave a Reply

