Swede – the Monster Veg

SwedeSwede . . . OOF! It’s got a face only a mother could love and it’s smell has a hint of fart about it. I know there are probably swede lovers out there, but I’m not one of them – could you tell? But . . . I made a pact that I wasn’t going to throw anything from my veg boxes away so it’s got to be eaten.

My swede was larger than a baby’s head so there was no way I could eat it all at once. I started by cutting a third off and using it in a root veg gratin. It was kind of OK, but my least favourite veg gratin so far – and it didn’t convert me.

Swede and Apple Bake

With the bulk of the thing still left, I searched for some ideas online. The Abel & Cole website had a few interesting ideas and I plumped for a swede and apple bake, thinking the taste of the swede would be disguised. I mashed the swede and three apples with some butter and a pinch of nutmeg. This was then transferred to a dish for the oven and the top was covered in breadcrumbs and little knobs of butter. It smelled much more swedey than appley. Anyway, I chucked it in the oven at 170°C for about 20 minutes.

I didn’t know what to serve this dish with so I ate it on it’s own. It’s not the kind of thing you can eat a lot of and it definitely needed something with it. I searched the internet again and found a few swede recipes with parmesan – that might be good to try the next time I get one of these carbuncles in my box.

UPDATE: I ate the swede and apple bake some time ago and there’s still a strong taste of swede in my mouth. I hope my breathe doesn’t smell of swede, I told you what I thought they smell off . . .

Please vote in my swede poll click here

2 thoughts on “Swede – the Monster Veg

  1. Have you tried nibbling on a slice of raw swede? Don’t knock it … I LOVE raw swede but tend to avoid the cooked variety wherever possible. Same goes for carrots.

    • Hmmm, I definitely agree with you on the carrot front, I love them raw, but don’t like them cooked. I did try one nibble of swede raw and you’re right it wasn’t so bad as it was cooked. I don’t think I could nibble my way through a whole one though. And . . . wouldn’t it give you the most tremendous farts?!

Leave a Reply

