Cauli Curry in a Hurry

Cauliflower

The star of this week’s veg box is a lovely looking cauliflower. It’s the first time a cauli has appeared in the box – and the first time one has appeared in my kitchen!

It’s silly really as cauliflower is a close relation to my favourite vegetable, broccoli. I can’t really say why I haven’t given it a proper chance before, but that’s the beauty of veg boxes – what gets delivered is what gets cooked.

Cauliflower Curry

I found a US recipe for a cauliflower curry, but it’s full of ‘cups’ and a million spices so I decide to make it up as I go along. All in all the meal takes about 20 minutes to cook, which means the rice and the curry can be cooked side by side and are ready together.

After putting the rice on I melted some butter in a large saucepan and added 2 1/2 teaspoons of curry powder, and two chopped up cloves of garlic. Then I chopped an onion and threw that in. After a few minutes I added the entire chopped up cauliflower and about 2 glasses of water. This was left to steam for about 5 minutes before I added a glass full of frozen peas and a handful of chopped parsley. After about another 5 minutes I added a small tin of plum tomatoes and when they were heated through the curry was done. As I like a slightly thicker curry, I added a little more water and a bit of flour at the end to bulk up the liquidy base.

This quick cauli curry is mighty tasty, but don’t cut the florets too small or they’ll turn to a tasteless pap! With larger florets you can still taste the freshness of the cauliflower through the curry flavours, which is really nice.

The Benefits of Spices

There could be more benefits to this meal than just a good taste. Scientists have found that combining spices such as turmeric with cruciferous veg like cauliflower and broccoli provides a great nutrient boost that can have protective and even healing effects on prostate cancer. You can read more here.

 

Leave a Reply

