What to Do with Brussel Tops

My veg box comes with a small newsletter/order form each week and on this it tells you what you might expect in next week’s box. This week it listed brussel tops, which is something I haven’t seen in the box for months.

When I first got brussel tops I didn’t know what to do with them. I had a good search on the internet for ideas, but there didn’t seem to be any ideas out there.

Now I am expecting a visit from the brussel tops fairy, I want to be prepared. I also figure that there may be other people out there who are having the same ‘what do I do with brussel tops’ conundrum.

Basic Ways to Cook Brussel Tops

The first time I tried brussel tops I ended up throwing them into a stir fry and found that they had a subtle brussel-sprout taste with a slightly bitter edge. But as far as greens go, they didn’t leave a lasting impression.

The last time I wrote about brussel tops, reader Angie Elder left a comment saying:

Years ago we used to eat Brussel tops the same was you would spring greens, broccoli, curly kale, and cabbage, as an accompaniment to a meal. My mum used to boil them in salted water until tender as you would any other greens. These weren’t just the tops from sprouts that we grew, but you could easily buy Brussel tops in the supermarkets in bags as you do spring greens, and they were readily available on market stalls . . .

So, basically, we need to treat brussel tops just like any other greens.

New Ideas for Brussel Tops

To find some new ideas, instead of searching for brussel tops recipes I searched for sites that had good recipes and articles on cooking greens.

The best information I found was on the Fine Cooking website. The article covers everything you want to know about cleaning, storing, preparing and cooking greens. The recipes there include a Creamy Parmesan Swiss Chard Gratin, which I reckon would fare just as well as a Creamy Parmesan Brussel Tops Gratin!

Other Great-sounding Recipes

Alternatively, just cook your brussel tops simply as Angie suggested and add a splash of olive oil, and your choice of chopped garlic, chopped chilli, toasted sesame seeds, bacon, parmesan cheese, sunflower seeds, chopped olives . . .

I think that, when brussel tops do appear in my veg box again, a Creamy Parmesan Brussel Tops Gratin may be in order. That sounds good to me.

 

3 thoughts on “What to Do with Brussel Tops

  1. That is such a great idea – I’ve always just thrown these away in the past. Won’t do now. And thanks for your comment on my blog!
    Stephen

  2. ive eaten them for years,,and tried them in many ways, but heres a way you might like to try, clean the tops,,boil in salted water, dice 5/6 baby pickled beetroots, crumble some stilton cheese, and while the tops are still hot, tos the lot together,,mmmmmmmm,,lovely,,

Leave a Reply

