Spinach Nutrients and Quick Roasted Veg

SpinachThis week’s veggies are: • Red potatoes • 2 courgettes • Cabbage
• Carrots • Kale • Swede and for the first time, • Spinach.

Spinach Nutrients

I lovvvve spinach. According to The World’s Healthiest Food website, spinach is an excellent source of: vitamin A, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin C, vitamin K, manganese, folic acid, magnesium, iron, calcium, potassium and tryptophan.

It also contains good levels of: vitamin B1, vitamin B3, vitamin E, copper, phosphorus, zinc, omega 3 and selenium.

For 10 tasty spinach recipes, click here.

Quick Roasted Veg

I thought it was about time I braved the swede again instead of giving it away, so this time I tried it roasted.

I preheated the oven to 200 degrees then took two potatoes, a parsnip and the swede, and cut them all up into small cubes. Because the vegetables are cut into small pieces, they take less time to cook and get crispy.

After throwing the veggies into a roasting tin, I brushed them with olive oil, sprinkled them with a little salt and left them to their own devices in the oven. Twenty minutes later (give or take) they were done.

Roasted Veg Tastes Sweeter

These veg looked pretty much the same when roasted so I couldn’t always tell it was swede I was putting in my mouth. And when I did notice, my bottle of Lingham’s Ginger, Garlic, Chilli Sauce was there to help disguise the taste!

Because roasting brings the natural sweetness out of vegetables, I found the swede much easier to eat this way. I wouldn’t go so far to say that I liked it – heaven forfend – but I didn’t hate it this way.

