What to Do with Pak Choi

dec13 Veg boxThis week’s box has: • Potatoes • Turnips • Raw beetroot
• Carrots • Cabbage • Parsnips • Pak choi

The beetroot will definitely get juiced, the parsnips will be made into one of the recipes in my 10 Tasty Parsnip Recipes post and I quite fancy the Honey Creamed Turnips here.

pak choi

What is Pak Choi?

This week’s ‘first’ is the pak choi – also known as bok choy and Chinese cabbage. According to Wikipedia, pak choi is related to the cabbage and belongs to the same vegetable species as the turnip – which I would never have guessed.

All of pak choi is edible, I just cut off and discard the very bottom of the stems. The leaves can be eaten raw in salad or are quick to wilt by steaming, sauteing or stir frying.

The stalks hold their water well, which makes them refreshing to eat. They take a little longer than the leaves to cook, so put them in the pan first.

Pak Choi Recipe Ideas

Today I had half of my pak choi in a stir fry with tofu and any other random thing I could find, including a courgette, half a chilli and some brazil nuts.

If you are looking for a more adventurous recipe, here are some ideas:

What Nutrients Are in Pak Choi?

Pak choi is a very good source of vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin K, riboflavin (B2), vitamin B6, folic acid, calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium and manganese, and a good source of fibre, protein, thiamin (B1), niacin (B3) and phosphorus.

 

9 thoughts on “What to Do with Pak Choi

  1. My father has planted a garden about four months ago. He DOES NOT use pesticides do 2 the fact that his well 4 water is so close to the 2 the ground !(LESS THEN 50 FEET) One thing that he has is that is growing like a wild fire is Pak Choi! He loves the taste of it and cant stop talking about it! The only problem is that he has 2 much!!
    How would u go about preserving or freezing it? What would be the best way, because he has a 2 rows about 30 feet long!
    He is going 2 give some 2 the local farmers market and to some friends but he thinks that he should still save some, and I agree with him! Please help me help him because he only knows how 2 freeze corn

    • Hi Dan, I haven’t done this myself, but from what I’ve read, you can freeze Pak Choi leaves, but not the stems. With the leaves, most people advise that you ‘steam blanch’ them first for about 3 minutes. After blanching, plunge them in very cold icy water then dry off and store in a plastic container. Freezing the stems is not recommended as its structure is mostly water and it will turn to mush.

      I found the next bit of info here: http://www.ngb.org/gardening/fact_sheets/fact_details.cfm?factID=9. ‘If you have a cold frame, dig the plants with the roots on, place them in the cold frame and cover them with straw and dirt. They will keep several months this way.’

  2. Hello,
    After my first visit this spring to our local nursery I discovered I had purchased Pak Choi. After reading how nutritious this vegetable is I am excited to try it. Will this appeal to the deer that pass through our yard?
    I was ready to pass it on to my friend with a garden as I focus on flowers.
    These bright yellow flowers were what attracted my attention.

    Any suggestions for growing are appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Susan

  3. I set bak choi seeds in a polytunnel in the middle of July. They are growing nicely now. When can I start eating them? Can I pick off the leaves like cut and come lettuces? This is my first time growing this and am unsure when it will be ready to eat/harvest. Thanks

  4. I grew pak choi this year.The early growing were great but the later sowings have bolted but i still ate the leaves.They were fine.I have frozen some as well.I cooked them like this.Get a cup and put in 1 garlic finely chopped,a little ground nut oil, a little sesame oil and if you want some hot chilli oil plus if you have some Chinese fish oil.Put all of this in a big frying pan or a wok.Heat and add the Pak choi.stir so the leaves are covered and then cook for 5 minutes.A little experimentation is best to get to how you like it.I love it .

Leave a Reply

