10 Tasty Radish Recipes

Radishes are more versatile than most of us give them credit for. Granted, they are lovely in a fresh salad, but I think it’s time to give the radish a new image.

In anticipation of harvesting my first crop of radishes in a couple of weeks’ time, here are some recipes that make more use of these little red balls of fire.

From radish dips, sandwiches and chips to curries, tarts and a pasta dish, there are lots of things to try.


1• Citrus Radish Confit

A zesty, peppery relish you can add to any meal from bread and cheese to a lamb or fish dish. (From bbc.co.uk)

2• Radish and Sesame Noodle Salad

A simple to cook and tasty alternative to the usual salad with noodles and soy sauce. (From bbc.co.uk)

3• Dagmar’s Detox Salad

Ingredients, including parsley, pine nuts, apples and sesame seeds, make this a flavoursome, healthy lunch or side dish. (From bbcgoodfood.com)

4• Radish and Goat’s Cheese Raita

Serve chilled with hot and spicy dishes or use as a dip for raw veggies, chips or crisps. (From Channel4.com)

5• Radish, Butter and Bread

Or in other words . . . radish sandwich! One from the ‘why didn’t I think of that before’ box. (From whatscookingamerica.net)

6• Shaved Fennel, Radish and Grapefruit Salad

If you love strong flavours and food that’s fresh and clean on the palate, try this salad. Ideal as a garnish for fish. (From epicurious.com)

7• Baked Radish Chips

Spicy coated radish chips ready in 15 minutes. Eat them alone as a snack or as an accompaniment to a rice meal. (From caloriecount.about.com)

8• Radish Curry

Radishes sautéed with onions, garlic and chili, inspired by the Kerala style of cooking. (From Salt and Pepper)

9• Radish Tart

Creamy, cheesy, radishness, baked in a pastry base. (From en.wikibooks.org)

10• Mexican Coleslaw and Cool Mediterranean Pasta with Radish and Orange

A new twist on coleslaw with zingy salsa and a healthy pasta dish full of flavour. (From globalgourmet.com)

36 thoughts on “10 Tasty Radish Recipes

  1. It was nice seeing this page…. I decided to go ahead and publish a user-controlled radish website so that users can add recipes or YouTube videos pertaining to growing/cooking and other how-to’s… I also quoted and linked back to this page at the top of the site. There are still a few things to do and enhance, but I thought I’d open it with the capabilities I just mentioned and go from there.

  2. Radishes??? I used to hate them, then I started reading. Guess another shot is warranted.

    Hey, wanted to let you know (as a veggie expert and all) that there is a cool new wine and food pairing contest going on. If you like, you can learn more about the Santa Margherita Great Taste Challenge and see if you want to enter! Hope that’s okay to mention!!!

    How about the potato, what’s in store for that one?

    ha. Best!


  3. This page is so helpful! I just picked up a large bunch of radishes from the local market with no idea what I was going to do with them (they just looked so pretty)! Now I have some great ideas, thanks!

    • Hi Sarah, Glad you found it useful :). Loved that you picked them up because they looked good. I’m always doing that sort of thing!

  4. Thank you – We have a bumper crop of radishes and I had no idea what to do with them other then share with friends as they are – Now I can share with friends with something tastily made too!

    • Ahh – the first harvest is always an exciting thing. My first for this year is courgettes! Only one plant (not much space!) and so far 8 courgettes eaten and there’s at least 4 more. Very pleasantly surprised at how easy growing it’s been, too. Good luck with the chips.

  5. I am on a strict diet for food allergies, but radishes are one of things I can eat. I am delighted to find that 4 of these recipes are ones that I can make and eat with very few alterations. Looking forward to trying them!

  6. I was lucky to find your dancinggecko.wordpress.com site. Thank you for sharing your talent and helpful information with us. You are a bright light!

  7. I’ve just grown a small plot of radishes just to use the space before winter-I can’t believe I dismissed radishes before as just an inconsequential side salad veg!! They can grow at the earliest and latest part of the year, they grow quickly, they are happy to be left alone so minimal care required, and they taste fantastic!! Gonna try the chips recipe-not before sowing another plot this afternoon for the winter! Thanks for the ideas!!

  8. I’m not a fan of raw radishes but I’ve come to love them sliced and thrown into a foil pouch with a little salt, pepper, t of butter and an ice cube! It’s so simple but really lightens the flavor for those of us who don’t care much for heat. :-)

  9. Can anything be done with the green tops of radishes? They look so fresh and must have some nutrients.

  10. […] Radishes The other day I was scrounging around for a snack.  I didn’t know what I want…but then I thought…RADISHES!! My friend Ewelina was saying how much she loved them, and I remembered, “Hey, I like radishes too!”  So I bought some this week when food shopping!  And I devoured them very quickly.  I saved a few to put on my salads this week for lunch though.  Yum yum yum!  Maybe I will have to try these 10 tasty radish recipes! […]

  11. […] 10 Tasty Radish Recipes – Vegging Out | All Things Natural … – A new twist on coleslaw with zingy salsa and a healthy pasta dish full of flavour. (From globalgourmet.com) Rate … (not much space!) and so far 8 courgettes eaten and there’s at least 4 more. Very pleasantly surprised at how easy growing it’s … Great list of radish recipes. […]

Leave a Reply

